.

Pilgrim Opponents File Zoning Complaint on Replacement Workers Sleeping at Plant

Members of the Freeze Pilgrim group filed a complaint with Plymouth Inspectional Services Department claiming Entergy is violating zoning bylaws by having replacement workers at Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station sleep in trailers onsite.

After hearing reports that replacement workers were sleeping in trailers at Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station during the lockout, Plymouth resident and Freeze Pilgrim member Ted Bosen has taken the issue into his own hands.

Bosen said the sleepover violates federal, state, and local laws and must be discontinued.

Monday he filed a complaint with the town's Inspectional Services Department. "The Entergy Corporation is in violation of the Plymouth Zoning Bylaw, as well as the State Sanitary Code and possibly Fire and Safety regulations as well, in that they are housing replacement workers overnight on the premises of an industrial-zoned parcel, thus engaging in a prohibited residential use of the zone," Bosen wrote in his letter to Paul McAuiliffe, director of Inspectional Services.

"I speak for myself and many concerned citizens who believe that Entergy should not be afforded any privilege to violate zoning regulations that are regularly enforced against Plymouth citizens. We anticipate that your department will do its job and enforce the local bylaw in this case, as well."

Bosen concluded the letter stating that if the town refuses act, "a group of 10 citizens stands ready to sue to compel such enforcement, but will seek its costs and attorney's fees if forced to act."

Also Monday, Plymouth resident Meg Sheehan sent an email to several members of the NRC staff questioning Entergy's decision to have workers sleep in trailers at the plant, or as she called it "operate a motel at the Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station."

She was answered later that day by the NRC's Pilgrim Branch Chief Ronald
Bellamy. Bellamy wrote that having workers sleep at the plant "is not an unusual preparation for conditions, including when hurricanes have been predicted near Pilgrim. For those short periods of time when workers have been held onsite past their normal shifts, we have determined the plant and that the health and safety of the public has been maintained."

Below is the full text of both letters and the responses:

Dear Mr. McAuliffe,

The Entergy Corporation is in violation of the Plymouth Zoning Bylaw, as well as the State Sanitary Code and possibly Fire and Safety regulations as well, in that they are housing replacement workers overnight on the premises of an industrial-zoned parcel, thus engaging in a prohibited residential use of the zone.

Enclosed is a picture taken of at least one makeshift “bedroom” created out of a small office space which makes it clear that sleeping quarters are in use on the plant premises. This was taken two days ago by a worker who wishes to remain anonymous.

Also enclosed is an NRC response to citizen's request for information where Pilgrim Branch Chief, Ronald Bellamy, admits that Pilgrim is housing workers onsite, which he justifies as having been done before for emergencies such as hurricanes. There is no such emergency now, however, nor is it a fortuitous event, as Entergy, itself chose to lockout workers and bring in replacements, so there is no justification to the unlawful use here.

I speak for myself and many concerned citizens who believe that Entergy should not be afforded any privilege to violate zoning regulations that are regularly enforced against Plymouth citizens. We anticipate that your department will do its job and enforce the local bylaw in this case, as well.

Please be advised that if the Town fails to act to do so, a group of 10 citizens stands ready to sue to compel such enforcement, but will seek its costs and attorney's fees if forced to act. Thank you for your prompt attention to this complaint. Please keep me advised of the Town's response.

Sincerely,

Theodore L. Bosen

...

Dear NRC Staff,

Can you explain to the public:

1. Where in Entergy's newly issued operating license it gives the company permission to operate a motel at the Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station, and

2. What NRC manual governs the practices and procedures for having staff sleep on site.

Thank you.

Margaret E. Sheehan
Attorney at Law
Volunteer & Concerned Citizen, Business Owner, and Property Owner
Plymouth MA

...

Ms. Sheehan
 
Weareas [sic] we reviewed was the capability of Entergy to adequately staff the station, in light of potential job actions.  Entergy formulated a plan to keep qualified workers onsite if they rest, some sleeping arrangements were made onsite. This is not an unusual preparation for conditions, including when hurricanes have been predicted near Pilgrim. 
 
Ronald R. Bellamy,
Pilgrim Branch Chief

malcolm nichols June 12, 2012 at 11:40 AM
Maggy you are wasting our time any money. Go fight the silly Wind Turbines which litter and pollute our land.
Patrick Ryan June 12, 2012 at 11:58 AM
In responce to the NRC, hurricanes and major storms don't last more than 5 days. put a time limit on the sleep overs.. sro's are also too over tired, to be opperating a nuclear plant after 5 days. get a no strike agreement with the union, or shut it down. its a 40 year old nuclear plant, that needs every employee doing his job, Today not next week or next month . Your endagering us all .And no more staffing cuts . 700 to 400 is enough, the older the plant and the workers get , the more people you need, not less .
quickdraw June 12, 2012 at 01:09 PM
Has anyone even acknowledged why the company had to lockout the workers? The temp contract had expired. that meant the workers could walk out ANYTIME and call a strike. That's unsafe. Would these workers walkout at a crucial moment, so the company had to choice but to sign the contract?? Possibly. In this industry, there is only room for absolutes. Lockout was not a tactical move; it was purely about SAFETY.
quickdraw June 12, 2012 at 01:51 PM
Meg. Would you rather these people fall asleep on the way home, and cause a fatal accident?? Find something valid to complain about. I promise you, you are making a lot of people smile right now. I think the trailers are a GREAT idea. Make it permanent! Those shift workers could take a little nap before going home. These people are way more committed to their job than the average public. Oh wait, except for the those union guys. Come on, get back to work! You make great money. I think you can afford to pay a little more for your insurance; Just like the rest of us!
Patrick Ryan June 12, 2012 at 06:35 PM
Its allways the unions fault or the workers no one in his right mind just because he is in a union, would walk out and leave the plant in an unsafe condition, they live next door not 200 miles away and its not just a little more for health care its 70 percent more in addition to staffing cuts plus they lost 5 million of the retires heath care money .its always the unions fault. its what the 1% would have you believe . the ceo gave himself a 3 mill raise
Edward Varmette June 14, 2012 at 08:25 PM
Re; Quickdraw statement on 6/12/2012 - 09:51 The Union workers are highly experiecned and skilled workers who do care about the safety of the reactor. We also care about the public safety as we are part of the public. Most of us live in Plymouth or nearby surrounding cities and towns. Or kids go to or have gone to the local schools. We agreed to keep working and negotiating and the company said NO! And we would have never walked away from the plant leaving it unsafe unless properly relieved. After all it is our families as well that would be affected. And it is not a slight increase in our health care cost, our cost would double to more than a thousand dollars a month for the best plan offered. And the health care plan is far from the only issue.
susan Smith June 15, 2012 at 10:02 PM
Nice job Eddie you state this grreat! How about the disgruntle worker who wants to go home and cant because he is sequestered in a way that he /she has no choice. This plant is a smelly mess. And the garbage was/is piling up. And the Shitters were backed up as well. How do you think the pictures got out? It wasnt management sending them out. Dont forget Its your economy and our economy and right now ENTERGY is playing golf while you and I struggle to survive. They do not care about little managers, or union workers. Someone in MISSISSIPPI is playing russian roulette with your life and mine and every citizen in Massachusetts. Its time to send the experienced workers back to work. STOP CORPORATE GREED. AFTER ALL YOU DONT LIVE HERE ENTERGY CEO THANK you for not caring for my life and paying off all your BIG Wigs.
A Brown June 16, 2012 at 02:18 PM
Entergy is nothing but corp greed. It's not the workers. Some of these workers have been here for over 20 years and gave up many holidays and summers with their family when the plant runs into a problem. The workers step up to the plate everytime Entergy needs them and this is the thanks. Your health insurance is going up 250 dollars out of pocket a week. In this economy that is ridiculous when they make a million dollars a day. Shame on the people who don't know all the true facts.
A Brown June 16, 2012 at 02:21 PM
I agree the workers do care and do live local. Funny how Entergy claims safety first but they just canceled and Emergency Drill because they didn't have the correct number of people qualified. Well lets hope there isn't a real emergency during this lockout.
citizen1 June 23, 2012 at 12:48 PM
it's easy to say you wouldn't have walked away but it was the best bargaining chip you had. please look at what the rest of the country is living on and then tell me you have a right to more. i dont care what the ceo makes, this is america and every ceo of every company is living large not just entergy. the people that are running the plant in your summertime absence are doing just fine, why is that? you would think with all those highly experienced workers gone they would be in big trouble but the truth is they are doing just fine. and you talk about the best health care plan possible...... you make me sick. there are families out there with no health care and no jobs (you have seen the economy lately havent you?) and you want the "best plan". shame on you for not being grateful for what you have. and retirees from the plant have that insurance and also social security, no one who retired from there is hurting and if they are it was very very bad planning on their part. your not striking for the people that are gone. walk your line with the big rat but know entergy can and will hold out longer than you. and maybe you should check out and see where that union money went? maybe the stewards wife needed a new car, tell people what the fights at the union hall are really about! don't blame a company for taking away benefits when your union leader is stealing right under your nose.
citizen1 June 23, 2012 at 12:50 PM
AND no one is sleeping at the plant!! if your going to write something at least make sure your up to date and it's true. most of you people sound like cnn, you got the headline but the rest is propaganda. again, no one is sleeping at the plant.
citizen1 June 23, 2012 at 12:55 PM
exactly! in this economy they should be glad the company is paying any part of the health care cost, check what other companies have done and you will see that people making far less than the Union are paying far more for their coverage. unions think they are almighty, better that the rest of the 84% of the work force, why? you monopolize good jobs that more qualified workers would jump at the chance for but because of union contracts cant be offered the job you dont seem to want. break the line, break the union and put people to work that wont whine and cry about making over a hundred grand a year.
A Brown June 23, 2012 at 04:23 PM
Lots of the people don't even make over 70000 so walk in someone's shoes before you judge. The co wants them there 60 to 72 hrs a week but they claim safety. Over worked employees isn't safe. Maybe entergy should hire more people to help and give other ppl opportunity to have a job. Oh yeah they are to cheap for that as well. U don't know them at all
MiddleOfTheRoad June 23, 2012 at 06:05 PM
Actually A Brown, you're correct. Lots of people don't make over 70K, but the company doesn't need to hire more people with amount of people already there that are ready, willing and able to miss time with their families for overtime. I see it everyday. You're half right in your arguement. Try not to be so dramatic trying to prove your point. I have seen some pretty beligerent behavior when there are those rare parts of the year with no O.T. I also know that in certain departments there are times when O.T. is forced and that is ashamed I agree. As far as excessive work hours go; you know as well as I do that there is a Fatigue Rule in place for people that work on safety related equipment. That, you should also know, is monitored by the NRC and other Federal Labor Agencies. You should also know that in the few cases that Rule must be violated, that waivers and approvals must be reviewed and granted prior to the work being performed. Please tell the whole story if you are going to begin it. Don't just stop after you say "Once upon a time" and then walk away.
Ernie Douglas June 23, 2012 at 08:23 PM
The AVERAGE take home was $122,000 last year in Local 369. So for everyone who earns "only" $61,000, someone else is earning $183,000.It's a fair wage, with guaranteed raises being offered by the company over the next 4 years. Those who insist on the very best medical plan are being asked to pay a larger share. Those who opt for a more typical plan will see little or no raise in premiums. Nobody begrudges them a good living, but they voted down a fai contract that was UNANIMOUSLY approved by In a month or so, maybe the vote will be different.
citizen1 June 23, 2012 at 08:43 PM
again misinformation, the company has a fatigue rule, check that out. and article 23 is what all you union workers are pissy about. you want to drag around all day milking a job that takes three hours into twelve so you can get overtime. how many hours did you put in this week? walking that line is the hardest labor you've done in a while. enjoy your summer.
citizen1 June 24, 2012 at 12:45 PM
your absolutely right qd. and patrick, in their right mind. who complains about a job paying over 100K a year? here's the real deal..... if entergy would take article 23 off the table, or better words, allow article 23 to stand, these guys would make a running dash back to work. i love all the people taking a stand when they don't even know what the issues are. you think it's all about healthcare and yearly raises? nope. I would like to know what went on at the union hall last week when the former president of the union accused the current president of, ummmm, stealing. wow, can you imagine that? corruption in the union? what would hoffa say?
Edward Varmette June 25, 2012 at 02:43 AM
Ernie - First off the average worker ( myself being one, as I work only 50% or less of ovetime being offered ) does not make close122 thousand.Even in a refuel ouateg year I have never made that. And the raise being offered is 50-100% lower than estimated cost of living increase next year on some web pages.For an example copy and paste the link below to your browser. http://www.forecast-chart.com/forecast-inflation-rate.html And for those who believe the crap you, nukeworker, and citizen are spouting. If you believe the union wages are ruining this country and CEO pay does not matter, copy and paste the link about CEO pays below to your browser. http://www.aflcio.org/Corporate-Watch/CEO-Pay-and-the-99/ And I do not milk a job, when I am done with a job I let my boss know, WHEN I can find them. Lastly I have the guts to post the truth with MY name, it is cowards who hide behind fake names and spread lies and propaganda that make me sick.
citizen1 June 25, 2012 at 03:21 AM
edward, bravo to you for not having to worry about repercussions for using your real name, i applaud you. 122 is the average pay, so sorry your on the lower end of that ladder, guess we know how you voted. it's not propaganda if it's true. and i hope you feel better soon there's a spot waiting for you on the line, right next to the sani-can.
A Brown June 25, 2012 at 07:58 PM
Again walk in someone else shoes. When your child takes a 1000 dollar chemo pill a day and has radiation 5 days a week and gets rushed to the hospital because they cant breath then yes the best medical is needed and working OT is not because they choose to be with their family because that's what counts

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something